Microsoft MCSA Certifications and Exams: All You Need to Know to Pass and How to Prepare with Updated Practice Tests

Microsoft MCSA Certifications

Proving your up-to-date IT skills and bolstering your CV requires you to have a certification. If you recently joined the IT field, then Microsoft MCSA credentials should be your best choice. This is because these badges and their required exams help you to start and develop a flourishing IT career as they are designed for those who want to have a validation of middle-level skills in a certain technology. Before we go deeper into the MCSA certifications, let’s first find out what they’re all about.

About MCSA Certifications

The Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA) credentials cover a wide range of IT domains. They were created for professionals to validate their competencies in Microsoft products as well as specific knowledge areas. They also act as a requirement for the credentials of the upper level – MCSE (Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert) and MCSD (Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer) certifications. So, in case you wish to acquire an expert-level badge, you have to first pass ExamSnap Microsoft Certification Dumps exams and earn the certification.

More Details about MCSA Certifications

There are a variety of certifications Microsoft offers in this category. They help you validate your experience and knowledge in designing and building different technology solutions. However, if you want to become MCSA certified, you should do this in the coming months because these badges will be retired at the end of June 2020. But, obtained before the current date they’ll remain a valid proof of your competencies.

These associate-level certifications focus on products like Windows Server, Office 365, Microsoft Azure, SharePoint Server, SQL Server, Microsoft Dynamics 365, etc. To earn each of the badges requires sitting for up to three exams. Below, we’ll review some of the most in-demanded MCSA credentials and their details.

  1. MCSA: Windows Server 2012

This certification for computer network administrators and network specialists proves your ability to install, configure, and administer the Windows Server 2012. You’ll have to pass three tests including 70-410, 70-411, and 70-412.

  1. MCSA: Windows Server 2016

Computer network specialists and network administrators are the ones targeted by this credential. Its aim is to verify their skills in installation, storage and compute, and networking with the Windows Server 2016. The exams to pass are 70-740, 70-741, and 70-742.

  1. MCSA: Web Applications

Web developers or administrators are the ones to benefit from this MCSA badge. It covers technologies such as Visual Studio, mobile apps, Framework, .NET, and C#. To obtain these certification candidates must pass two exams. First of all, you should choose any from 70-480 or 70-483. For the second one, 70-486 exam is compulsory.

  1. MCSA: SQL Server 2012/2014

This credential targets database developers and analysts. Basic knowledge of IT is highly recommended before you pursue this certification. There are three tests to pass, which are Microsoft exam 70-461, 70-462, and 70-463. These tests check your ability to query, administer, and implement a data warehouse using the 2012/2014 Microsoft SQL Server.

  1. MCSA: SQL 2016 Database Administration

Some basic SQL knowledge and skills would be critical when pursuing this certification that prepares you for administering databases or the role of an infrastructure specialist. You’ll have to take and pass two exams which include exam 70-764 and exam 70-765. These exams test your ability to install, configure, maintain, and provision databases.

Microsoft MCSA Exam Details

To know the main features of the MCSA exams, they are the following:

  • Number of questions of between 40 and 60 of various question types (active screen, build list, drag and drop, hot area, multiple-choice, review screen, among many);
  • Time allocated: 120 minutes;
  • Passing score: 700 out of 1000 marks;
  • Price: $165

The test is taken regularly but due to coronavirus outbreak worldwide, tests are suspended.

How to Improve Your Exam Preparation?

Along with using training options from the vendor itself, it’s highly recommended to utilize practice tests to check your knowledge. Using the most updated tests can significantly increase your chances to pass the exam. So, practice tests are files that contain the actual questions and answers uploaded by the recent exam takers and shared with you. At, you can find free vce files to prepare for your test. Also, you can receive a paid set of resources named Premium Bundle. Now such sets cost $39,97 for most MCSA exams and include practice tests, video training courses, and study guides.

Note, that such tests cover all exam objectives, and using them boosts the level of preparedness. To add more they are provided in the vce format and can be opened on the VCE Software. This tool helps you explore the question types, set time limits and get detailed results to see what themes still need more attention to be mastered.


Each of these MCSA certifications comes with varying requirements. You, therefore, need to ensure you understand them before settling on the one you like. However, most professionals with basic IT skills will qualify to pursue any of them. Also, ensure to check out the list of learning resources for each exam from Microsoft’s website. If you combine these exam prep resources with practice tests, you increase the possibility of passing your MCSA exam, become a successful professional in your domain and will greatly boost your career in IT. So, it’s worth gaining if you are eager to develop in this sphere.

This post was last modified on June 3, 2020 6:27 PM

Yogesh Patel: Yogesh Khetani is a famous Tech Blogger who loves to be surrounded by tech gadgets. So obviously, we can see his contribution here in that field. He also contributes to Now I am Updated website.